2014 Sochi Olympics!

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

EATERIES to try out in Toronto!

This is a well-research and anxiously awaiting list of some or even ALL of the places I gotta try!
They rank fairly high on 'top places in Toronto to eat' lists. Or they are of interest to me from word of mouth, they are brand new in the area, or are nearby.

1. Porchetta & Co.
Dundas and Palmerston
*So much buzz around this porkery! Opened last December, I'm actually surprised it hasn't closed down in the downwards sloping Dundas-West area. Excited to try their one sandwich, hahha they add the extra homemade tomato sauce like California Sandwiches. Hipster-infested much?

2. Chococrepe
Queen and Markham
*tried once, want more in the future if happens

3. Cafe Crepe
Queen and John
*went there once, kinda pricey but highly varied. We should go there for actual dinner and desert crepes. Want to try more of for sure!

4. Kale
Yonge and Broadway
Super pricey according to weight of food. Is super local, organic, vegan, and vegetarian. The first shop with vegan food in Toronto, I'll give it a wack

5. North 44
Yonge and Broadway
Aye ya, a dinner type fancy smancy restaurant for two. Super expensive but it's great apparently with amazing service.

6. Banh Mi Boyz
Queen and Spadina
Wow, also newly open. Just down the street from its parent chain of Nguyen Hoang Viet Sanwiches. We've basically been going there all our entire lives whenever we have a long outing or whenever my parents want their hit of viet deserts and sandwiches. Conveniently located at Queen and Spadina, hopefully some fashion-forward hipsters can find the appreciation for this food as much as I have; albeit the popular gourmet burgers, poutines, and burritos joints around. I'm excited to try this and I'll give props to my fellow asians (3 Chau brothers); I'm willing to completely support you guys and spread the good word!

7. Khao San Road
Adelaide
One of the best Thai, if not the best Thai restaurant in Toronto. My parents and I occasionally like a great Thai restaurant but haven't found one yet. Maybe this will make do for it.

8. Ajisen Ramen
Dundas and Spadina
Been here once last year in 2010 for Mammy's Birthday. All pictures lost because yours truly accidentally pressed a button on the digi cam and erased everything, including my sweet 16 pics. OMFG. Whatevs, looking forward to coming here a few more times!


**Haha funny, Dim Sum King is rated number 1 for best lunches in Toronto by NowToronto.
Ajisen Ramen, Asian Legend, and King's Noodle Restaurant one of some Asian restaurants that made PostCity's Top 100 Restaurants List. Btw, I have and basically always hated Asian Legend, ew!

Monday, December 19, 2011

Jewish Last Names

Before coming attending high school, I barely knew any Jews. I was aware of them but never really interacted and got to know them. Here are a few popular ones and common ones; a few of ones I've ran into.
Here we go! Enjoy for your reference!

kirshner
sherman
herman
seeman
bloeman
bachmann
horowitz, horwitz
kitz
kravitz
fitz, fitzer
leigh
leighman
weiner
weinberg
goldberg
goldman
reinhart
reiner
riesenbach
rindlisbacher
biderman
ungerman
liebermann
lichenstein
einstein
finkelstein
feinstein
kleinman
klein
reitman
starkman
sachs
zohar
efron
eisenstadt
eisenhauer
eisenberg, eisenberger
baruch
fleischmann
fisch, fishcl, fishman, fischer
finkman
finkel
flohr
freund
sandberg
sandler
sanders
streisand
maltman
lamberg
lambert
kazman
wahlberg
kreitzer
silverstein
silver
kimmel
rosenberg
rosenbaum
rosenthal
strauss
himmelfarb
fennell
budish
feinman
adelman
huffman
rogen
kurzweil
heinz
hertz
handler
weiss
reiss
stiller
segal
siegel
cohen
seinfeld
feldman
feldberg
reisch
kohlberg
ehrlich
bernstein
levy
levine
levi
kirsh
epstein
garfinkel
gerber
goldblat
goldenberg
goldenbaum
glazier
goodman
greenman
greenberg
greenbaum
greenblatt
gross
gutfreund
haas
haber
haberfeld
halpert
hecht
hectman
heilbronner
hellner
herzig
hersch
hofmeister
holtz
hurwitz
hyman
jacob
kagel
kalish
kallenbach
dorfman
kaufmann
kellerman
katzen, katz
klinger
kogen
krebs
lehman
lachs
leibowitz
levitt
lichenstadt
lipschitz
litwin
loewy
lurie
mandel
melnick
milgrom, milgram
mannheim
naim
naimer
netanyahu
kuper
shonshanah
cooper
oren
oppel
paltrow
perlmutter
pulitzer
pollack
prager
preiss
radnitz
richler
brandwein
roshwald
rottmann, rottman
rothschild
roethlisberger
scheck
schecter
sauerbraun
scherzer
schiffer
schomberg
seligman
shabat
shabazi
sperling
spielberg
stern
spivak
tannenbaum
trachtenberg
ullman
ulgar
vilner
wahl
waz
wex
blitzer
wolf
yampolsky
zuckerberg
zworth
eckert
rosnick
benishai
grossman
grossinger
freeman
franken
zwirek
friedman
solomon
chapnik
hausman
lipworth
ziv
weltman
rush
perelgut
shaviv
oren
gutmann


Sunday, November 20, 2011

My short term goals...UNIVERSITY!!

Phyllis, Phyllis, Phyllis.

The time has come. Everything that I have ever worked for, everything that I have ever sacrificed, spent my time on, studied for, volunteered for, ran for, sweat for, bled for, and cried for has come down to these next few important months of high school.

Receiving a coveted acceptance letter from the university of my choice and in general, is one of epitomes of success and accomplishment. I am going to university, no matter what I am going to get in to the program and unversity I want to get into.

Whatever happened to that keen, hard-working, perfectionist grade 9 who got 90's in everything, huh? You need to fucken come back and fight for your marks and get your damn average up. It's going to rise like a frickin thermometer, getting hotter and hotter, closer and closer to my goal.

What is my goal? Right now with a meek 77% average, that is fucken just horrible. No school will want to accept me with those terrible marks. From what I find, it's either I go to a prestigious university program with high average admissions like 88+ OR it's the stupid 70+ average anyone-can-go-to programs at a horrible school with dumb white idiots. No, that is not friggin happening to me. I am going to freaking own it these next few weeks and dominate these exams and rock it and ace it!

MY GOAL? I am determined and I really want to go into the kinesiology program at McMaster's! Three whole years of undecisiveness and trouble and insecurity has lead me to this situtation now. I have never wanted anything more in my life right now. And I am have never been more sure. I really want to get into this program! I need at least around an 88+ average! Last year, the cutoff was about 87 or 88 avg. Will got a 96% avg. Plus, I need the marks for scholarships! If I don't get into Mac Kin, I'll have to settle with Waterloo or maybe U of T. But I reall want to go there! I have always had an interest in anatomy and sports and helping people and general well-being of people with the science aspect of it from labs and research.

HOW? I'm going to study fucken hard. This means hours on end per night studying with few breaks in between. I really got to keep concentrated and focused and ask questions and call people. And ask for help from teachers. Maybe get a tutor? I just really got to step my game up and raise my average and do well before the end of this year. OUAC applications are coming soon and if I don't get good marks, they're not going to even consider me. You can do it Phyllis, I believe in you. Don't let distractions and idiots and fools get in your way. You really have to commit to studying hard and making it count.

Love,
Phyllis :D
P.S. You will always be a superhero in my eyes :D

Saturday, November 5, 2011

MY BUSY WEEK

alright, this week at school has been utterly supremely academically BUSYYYYY!! beyond belief! zomg!

it was pretty overwhelming. rene had all the same things as meeeeeee, EXCEPT i had so much more and she was complaining so much and saying how she was so busy she couldn't hang out and was so worried she couldt get anything done that weekend. wow, well i had the exact same things and hockey and i try to at least have a bit of fun sometimes!

this past week...Oct 31-Nov 4, i had sooo much!

monday: the huge ex sci seminar on concussion, huge biology CAH research outline due
tuesday: economics test and calculus retest, OH and went trick-or-treating for free the children club with angalee, adriene c, gabe linzay, etc. lol from afterschool to 7:30pm!!! happy Halloween! i was bob marley yeahhh mon!
wednesday: chemistry research project due on organic compounds, dr.tim rindlis. talking, biology test + 1.5 hr hockey practice
thursday: missed school, MOMMY'S BDAYYYYYY!! happy 46th bday mommy, love you! went to u of t campus tour!!
friday: chemistry test, ex sci muscles test, English ergonomics article due, proof of process concussions due

then friday went to c 'moneyball' with some peeps...fell asleep how beautiful! there goes $10.75!
then went to hockey game at mastercard, 0-4 loss. boo!

THE GREAT THING about all this is-- i didn't even feel stressed out at all this week. honestly, i barely felt stressed out. i was less stressed than i thought i really would be! but i just kept going through!

then today, i went for about 6 hours in total of commuting and everything in a limo to canyon creek to celebrate chanee's 16th! lol talking bout maritel? the telemarketing company they work for to sell charity tickets. and took pics and i had salmon and finally had an actual FONDANT cake for the first time! afterwards, went and changed at sherway gardens to hockey uniform and its game time at mastercard! we lost 0-5. fml, i cried right before my first shift because i guess it's been such a busy week and i got singled out twice by carol and kim...fu!

i always get the motherfucken short end of the stick! no matter what and no matter how hard i work to prove myself, i always get it and it just happens. like allllll the freaking time. fuck that! i have to stand up for myself and hold steady! and fucken fight for my damn ass rights and not take shit from people. next time, i wont be afraid be to just "SETTLE" with what's happened to me. I have to fight back, be hungry, and even challenge authority and NOT be a 'nodder'. That Steve Jobs convocation address we studied before he died really hit me. motherfuckerz, this bitch is about to be the bomb and u better not get in her way!
because i dont frickin take shit from people! i have gone thru too much and sacrificed too much to take shit from people. so eff u and go jump off a bridge. im standing up for myself and getting whats rightfully MINE! I ALWAYS WORK HARD...in almost everything. c'mon reap me with the rewards already. or rape. haha that's a great way to end this long week and this long rant! :D
I HATE fake, materialistic, ethnocentric people
When did being honest and authentic become such a bad thing? I have honestly never met sooo many fake-ass, two-faced bitches in my life. A high concentration of them at NT.

--written in grade 11

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Algonqin Park Canoe Trip Sept 2011

This year's outer club canoe trip was fantasitically awesome!! We went from September 23 to 27, but I'm only writing about this now..... hee hee.
We trekked through canoe lake, smoke lake, and around a loop until we had to paddle back halfway the same way we came.

One thing surprised me was how other many other people were there too. And we kinda had to fight for a campsite and make ensure no other groups had taken the spot.

All in all, it was quite a lovely trip. Yes, for me, the saying still stand true that : "The people make the place, the place doesn't make the people."
Because no matter where you are in the world, what you are doing, it won't matter unless you have caring, loving people alongside to share your precious memories and experiences with.

BEST MEMORIES (chronologically)
-Ivan talking for 4 hrs straight in the car ride there about BULGARIA of course
-when Mz wolffe said she did park ranger!! zomg
-**this stood out: when mz wolffe talkd about her old park ranger friends and neighbourhood friends and said something like " you'll be surprised at who still keeps in contact with you in ur life.." (that rly struck me because it got me thinking which of my friends would stick it out with me in the long run, who will make life-long friends with me, and who still cares enough to keep in contact with me....and will I have friends like that when I'm older according to the ones I have now??)
-Paddled w/ Scudder on first day
-Ate at the cool subway looking train at webers, craved hamburgers then ate hamburgers for dinner , YES!
-it was fuckin pouring, and i was like thank god im not doing dishes tonight!!!!
-told scary stories in the tent....the partial blind man dog licking one, tommy in the island, puppies n kitties being mashed up, ....etc..?
-2nd day: the boys built a lil inukshuk thinggg. i only find danniell henndrxn attxve. (paddled Willow)
-Willow actually enjoyed and wanted to listen to my singing of numerous t-swift songs, wow, actually...she had no problem with it
-When she portaged for the first time like 500m no problemmmm and i was like holy shittt my first time suckeddd soo bad!!
-WHEN IVAN FELL INTO THE WATER!!!
----> he was staring at me the whole trip...that look when you like them and look at them with satisfication. He n Skuddder trying to out of the canoe and they TIP OVER. Ivan laughed soooo hysterically and said he'd never forget that moment. omg i just chuckled at first but when i told my story of it going slow-mo everyone laughed. Me n Willow were waiting for them to get out when it happened, lol. Scudddder had a look on his face of slow, disbelief. Then came the SWEARING. Teacher said the f word once then kept on saying oh shit. Ivan copied him as to get attention from other people and immatated him. He kept on saying "oh my gosh im going to die" in his bulgarian accent. WOW then everyone kept on refering to that tip the entire tripp
-us playing never have I ever and joanne saying "never have i ever watched porn," i start to chuckle then laugh so hard while in a massage train, then elainnee s here starts to list off the different branches of it and trying to pinpoint what it is i have rarely watch. zomg embarrassing. then on the last night we find out ms.biondic heard and EVERYONE was like what is it what is it? They kept bringing it up as my "annual" becuz i said i did it like once a yearrr like zomg whenevr it just happens to me onnnn. omg hilarious and the water was freezing collddd when i swam over. i only swam like 25 m n even then i was scared cuza the green rox n whatever could be under those waters
-rachel'ss squirm and flailing arm movements as shes jumping into the cold waterrr despite how she has her NLS. whooo cold!!
-that fucken mean ASS long damn 1400m portage. In the mud and MARSH (thick brush, knee high grass) zomg i had to portage a canoe that whole damn way! I put it down thrice. Elainee didnt help me and always keeps ditchin ppl n leaving by herself... so i had to lift the canoe myself!! ACECORE!lol! hoyl shittt i was fucken tired n exhausted n ran outta water n i was wearing sweats with long johns underneath in spite of sun-shining hot weather in mid-sept. That 5 days were awfully warm except the first night. but holyyy shit i was the last one to start the portage but i finished it n carried the canoe the whole way myself. even stuuu n daniel coulnt do it for the first time a few days before; they had to push it. took a tough group photo after that one
-using AQUATABS. i pronounce them aquataubs. lol
-zomg that japanese curry rice that biondicc n wolffeee made weere amazinggg!
-when we talkd bout ivan and i was like 'well i didnt pay $250 to babbysit someone'....ooops i think wolfeee heard but elainee also said another kinda rude remark.
-my stinky shoes in the tent
-the slipperiness of the rachels sleeping bag and thermarests holy shitt i appreciate my bed more
-craving korean bbq beef for first few days

***i was actually surprised at myself for not craving anything badly for 5 days...I'm glad about this because this means that I can live in rustic conditions and survive and be okay with it. Althogh, I did miss Korean BBQ, my big bed, and running clean water for drinking.
-i learnt how goood pepperoni sticks can taste, zomg i had like 5
-massaging everyone on the last night
-tylerr's unedited rambles about random things and funny stories..how his parents got invited to gene simmons wedding
-the huge bonfiree
-my getting 'trip singer' award
-i like washing dishes withe the dirt
-i love peeing n pooing out in nature, its natural and enviro-friendly n creates lesser carbon footprint, decomposes
-burning ur name into wood using matches
-stepping into knee deep mud and getting shoe stuck
-freezing my fuckena ss off in the night
-scuderrs glow in the dark nalgene
-seeing northern lights, wondering if there is a monster in the lake with the random bobbing of water, daniel catching a waterbug and crayfish n saying its wine
-eating the wonderful trail mix with some sweets n salties
-Daniellll finding the most random of thingsss.. frogs, moose tracks, ttrying to catch fish in pitch darkness on the last night
-seeing all the beautiful trees and changes in colour
-carryingt the fucken like 100 pounds barrels up the steep hills and downward slopes thru rocks, roots, leaves, mud, uneven ground, branches
-
-

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

T. Public library

today was the first day of school in gr 12. omg. aiight

learned something really cool! toronto public library website! a part called appel salon program with cool speakers such as kevin o leary and ron mclean among others like authors, economists, journalists, mayors, etc.

also have other lectures and author talks with authors like sarah dessen, etc.

REFERENCES resources like gale virtual and others~

AND HOLDING books and movies online instantly with card!!!!

ALSO $1 or 50cent books and magazines at Toronto Reference Library, huge library!!!
omg free e-books, music etc.

Thursday, September 1, 2011

back to school: 7 things my parents would never do

on thestar.ca article
family life, back to school: 7 secrets to an organized school year
:)

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

camp m songsssssssss

Myrtle The Turtle

Myrtle The Turtle goes
She looks at me and goes (blank face)
She never laugh or sings
Never does anything
Just looks at me and goes (blank face)

M-I-L-K song

Gimme a long M
Gimme a short m
Don't gimme no pop no pop
Don't gimme no tea no tea
Just gimme some milk milk milk milk milk
Some chocolate milk milk milk milk milk

Gimme a long I
Gimme a short i
Chorus

Repeat til it spells out m-i-l-k

***N.B. now i know how to do that complicated ass drinking one cheer on the table where u pass the cup along! :)


Saturday, July 23, 2011

TOP 7 countries I WANT TO VISIT!!!

1. Costa Rica---nature, biology, jungles, animals, beaches, environment

2. China---heritage, culture, people, cities

3. Brazil---gorgeous beaches, beautiful people, city

4. Australia---culture, accents, people, desert, animals, family

5. Dubai---mega structures, malls, hotels, shopping, artificial palm beach

6. Galapagos Islands---nature, biodiversity, survival, wild, beauty

7. Cambodia---roots, culture, language, people

Sunday, June 26, 2011

I call it: THE HIPSTER HAIRCUT

This popular haircut style for men. Shaves sides and coifed up hairdos.


Almost the same for girls. It's a shaved patch at the side. Or sides shaved with long hair.

Thursday, June 23, 2011

POPULAR OVERNIGHT SUMMER CAMPS

Over about 3 years, the idea of residential (overnight) camps haven't really been important to me. I really underestimated them and they are kinda underrated in my opinion. Except for the annoying brats who obsess about camp al year long literally.

But damnnnnn ever since Moorelands ACE last year, i fucken loved camp, holy shit! It's like the best thing ever. The rehearsed song and camp songs are almost cult-like, but wutevs it's amazing. One may be swift about browsing all the camps available and what they actually say on their website. For example, I completely 100% agree when they say that it builds : character, personality, confidence, empathy, initiative, new relationships, new friends, and a network of people. In fact, there's soooo much more. I had one of the best times at ACE, even though it was only for a short lived 8 days of out 365 days of the year. I enjoyed every one of those 8 days. I made connections with people in 2 days more than I did with classmates I've known for 2 years. We got soo close and struggles and challenged and did everything together for those 8 days.

The counsellors? Amazeballs. It's the people that make the place, not the place that makes the people. So true. I think the counsellors are the back-bone of camp. They run the show and are terrific role models to all kids. Damn, last summer was my first year ever at an overnight camp, something I regret never doing as a kid; partly cause I never knew about it and partly because my parents never signed us up.

But yeah, I LOVE CAMP. I LOVE IT. Even though I was pretty quiet during the canoe trip, I actually loved every part of nature, the outdoors, the wild, and the environment. I definitely have a really strong appreciation for it entirely. All the memories we made, everything! Too lazy to go into too much detail right now, but we documented what we did in our little ACE diaries; all our memories.

Seriously, I really wish I had gone to camps and cottages as a child. I somewhat missed out on my childhood in a way. All those weeks of going to camp in the summer. Some start as early as 5 or 6! They go there for like 1 week or even fucken 8 weeks every single summer! And do that til they're about 15-16 where they then attend LIT/CIT programs to become a counsellor!! Damn! And cottages too! All those weekends and long weekends and weeks of missed cottage opportunities.

That is time--hours and days and weeks that I can never ever get back or replace. Ever. But wutevs, at least I can fucken say that I've been to camp once. Only ONCE, for only 8 days. OMFG. But wutevs, I'm going to Camp Kearney this year for was supposed to be 11 days but I have to leave 2 days early because of the flight to Miami. Damn, so only fucken 9 days at camp, FML!! So I will go this year in my grade 11 summer. Then maybe again next year in grade 12 summer depending on my schedule. Even if I do, I can only claim I've been to camp 3 times, not a lot, truly.

But oh well, I'm so glad Camp Kearney actually accepts campers grades 3-12. Even grades 10-12 is pretty late because by grade 12 you are 18 and can already be a counsellor. Plus, it is subsidizes, bonus!! But really, I'm just really grateful it provides many older students the opportunity to attend camp because it is rare to find an actual camp program for those in grades 11 and 12. So thanks Camp Kearney, for giving me a chance and just letting me be a regular kid at camp! Sidenote: ACE was completely different from what I thought it would be. I didn't know it was a leadership camp. I thought it was just a traditional program doing fun things. But no, the first fucken day we got there they were like okay you guys are ACE. You guys will be doing stuff completely different from the other campers and you will be on a completely different schedule. wow, surprise!!

So yeah...talkin' bout my summer later but that's it for now. Go Camp Kearney!! I can't wait!!! I'm going to be sooooo enthusiastic and energetic and nice and friendly to everyone I meet. So hopefully, I can score a job soon, even though it's going to be my first time there. I'm going to make a long-lasting impression with my charming, outgoing, loud personality. This is what they basically look for at camp. Someone who isn't afraid to include others, scream at the top of their lungs, do a funky hairstyle, and do crazy skits. LOL, talk about drama/singing! :D

CAMP KEARNEY 2011, HERE I MOTHERFUCKEN COME BITCHESSSSS!!! :D HECK YEAH!!

Oh I forgot--the point of this article was the name some camps that the kids at my school go to. The popular overnight summer camps that I have learned to know over flipping 3 years at my school, the ones some of my classmates go to. OMG, I can name soooo many at the top of my head:
CAMP: Wanakita, Wahonowin, Kilcoo, Kearney, Kandalore, Wabanaki, Wabikon, YMCA Queen Elizabeth, YMCA John Island, Oconto, Onondaga, Arowhon, Moorelands, White Pine, Manitou, HOC, Olympia, Saddlewood, Tamarack, New Moon, Oochigeas and that's it.

PEACE Y'ALL!!


Monday, June 13, 2011

FASHIONS BACK in grade 7/8

Wow, it's hard to fathom the fact that just 4 years ago when I was in grade 7, that the brands people crazed over are now easily dismissable by people now. I can't believe that back then, honestly, people at my school would ALL dress completely preppy. The big three are : American Eagle, Hollister, and Abercrmobie & Fitch. Other growing ones were Ruehl, Aeropostale, and Garage. But damn!!! Frickin now, like absolutely no one in my school shops there, I mean unless they want somethign for cheap or get like a nice pair of destroyed short shorts. But other than that, many people, including myself, I'll admit that I rarely ever go to those stores anymore! I mean I occasionally go in and check them out at Eaton's if I have extra time; but honestly, it looks all the same to me. The same styles. The same flower print. The same t-shirts. The same navy blue. It's all the same, and all preppy. Even back in middle school, those were the brands to wear, but I still sported the occasional gap and old navy piece here and there.

I guess you could say that their popularity has somewhat died down because of the 'hipster' trend that's been going for about over a year! I haven't quite noticed before, but I was kinda in a culture shock for a good chunk of my high school life while passing by Eaton Centre and Queen St. W all the time, the hippest, trendiest, fashionable, entertaining place to be! (Lawl, at the Queen St. W Neighbourhood Study Project!!) I basically had almost no fashion sense in grade 9, I was focused more on academia and hockey. But now, I the big three are: American Apparel, Urban Outfitters, and Forever 21; without a doubt! These chains have been sooo popular over the past few years because of the hipster trend. They're fresh, new, and trendy. (Lol, at Urban Outfitters for imitating expensive jewellers' designs). Anyways, they're huge. In grade 10, I actually enjoy shopping at these places. Places I kinda like are Lululemon, Zara; I hate Mango, and everything else I can't remember at the moment.

So yeah, those three are still a hit! But now, I don't completely have one favorite store because I don't want to be defined from the one store I shop at only. I like a medley of clothing from different stores/brands. Sometimes, I don't always like to shop at brand name stores. Because other people in the world do not have the luxuries to afford such nice clothing and accessories. When I spend hundreds shopping, I think of all the possibilities it could've been used as for someone less fortunate. Also, I like to be different. Not too different, but unique. I want to stand out. I don't want to be just another face in the sea of fish. And even though I may not 'fit in', being unique is what makes a person a person; how they differ from everyone else in the world. If you look at all the successful people in the world, from celebrities to presidents to businesspeople to scientists to athletes, they are all unique in their own way! If they weren't they wouldn't stand out, catch our attention and be favoured.

At my school, I swear to god, allllllllll the grade 9s this year look allllllllllllll the same. Seriously, they alllllllllll look the same. I mean, with the exception of a few people I actually know who are involved in extra-curriculars and do things that will get them somewhere in the future. I can't stress it enough. They're like products of cookie-cutting materialism. They all have Uggs, Goose jackets, MEC backpacks, Birkenstocks, American Apparel tights, and Hunter boots. Damn yo! Frick! Actually, there are only like 7 girls I know in grade 9 who aren't that bad, and like 4 grade 9 boys as well who aren't Jewish, jerkish, douche bags. Man it just totally wipes out any kind of originality and creativity that the new school already depraves from.

As for my fashion style, if you're wondering, ha, I'll get to that! I like to wear a couple of the things my schoolkids wear. Yes, I wear Uggs, I have tights, I have a A&F flannel, I have a TNA jacket, I have TOMS, I have Keds, I have Lululemon shorts, I have a North Face spring jacket ( which I absolutely LOVE btw), and I have a Swiss backpack (e.g. best backpack everrrrr!!!). But still, I like to change things up a bit-- wear vintage and just do slightly outrageous things. This does not include dying my hair rainbows, wearing make-up, and having pen all over my arms.

Basically, I have a code I follow, SPC. ( Like Student Price Card; it reminds me to actually use it). Before I buy anything, I think: Do I really need it? Is it necessary? Can I run in it? I always buy products with nature, the outdoors, and the environment in mind, all the time! So that means before I buy a new piece of clothing or accessory it has to be (somewhat) Sensible, Practical, and Comfortable. E.g., especially everyday shoes!! If I can't run in it, wear it on a rainy day on the subway, or jump in it, it's a no. I do have slight lenience and I am flexible towards some products, but other than that, I live by that SPC code! For example, I am unwilling to get any piercings on my face or private parts because it's a hassle, and in the wild, it would get caught on a branch or something. And I wouldn't be able to completely put pressure on it. Another example: I would never ever buy gladiators or flat flip flops ever; they're soooo flattening for your feet! Another example: I would probably never buy a Goose jacket (made of coyote fur) or anything made with fur and unethical, non-environmentally friendly practices. Another example: I would almost never buy a jacket without a hood! ( I mean really, c'mon, I do live in Canada here). So hopefully after reading this, you get a little sense of my fashion style: past, present, and future. I was not intending to make this little 'artsy fartsy' article/rant this long, but I feel as if I need to get it out there. This needs to be said because now that I'm maturing, I can make useful lifestyle choices that I have established just for myself.

Thank you so much!
PEACE!

Saturday, May 7, 2011

TORONTO TRIUMPH: Lingerie Football League

WHO SAYS you can't be beautiful and brawn? Who says you can't be attractive yet athletic? Lol, reference to Selena Gomez's song, "Who Says".

The LINGERIE FOOTBALL LEAGUE will yield a new breed of female athletes. YEAHH!

It's pretty cool to think that Toronto will have a new LFL team! LFL itself is a damn great idea! Wish I though of it myself! It's kind of a win-win-win-win situation. A win for everybody!
a) It's a new league that will make lots of money. b) Male audiences can be entertained. c) It promotes athletics in females. c) The athletes get attention from males.

Completely awesome, is it not? I've been thinking about it and when I first heard about the LFL, I was immediately drawn in.

Last weekend, on the same weekend as The Royal Wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton (along with many other events) their were tryouts held for the Toronto Triumph team. DAMN yo!

If I don't end up making it to where I want to, I may actually consider playing in the LFL!!! I mean really, if things don't work out, I would really consider it. Hot guys love you. You get to play in sexy lingerie. You get to go all out and be tough. You get to have fun with your friends. You get to travel around the U.S.. And you get to promote sports in females, especially contact-sports. You get to entertain many people. Although it doesn't pay, travel costs are covered and its a great opportunity to broaden your networks and make lifelong friends with similar people.

Among the athletes trying out was Krista Ford. Hold it, Toronto Mayor Ron Ford's niece and daughter of city councillor Dave Ford. Holy sugar cakes! It's pretty interesting, there are talks that they will play in the city-owned Ricoh Coliseum. And that a Canadian league will establish with more teams come 2012. Another beneficial thing with having Krista on the team is that if conflicts were to occur, the Mayor's niece would be directly affected and would immediately turn to her father and uncle for help. For example, if Ricoh's playing conditions were horrible, Krista could conivince her uncle to put some taxpayers money into fixing it. Or if the League was unfairly compensating the players. Any stupid issue like that regarding wages, insurances, injuries, facilities, requirements, laws, etc.

Toronto Triump can bring in lots of revenue for the city, and have fun times doing it. WHOOOO!!! I know I'll be watching just to see how athletic they really are. Although, they primarily base it somewhat on looks. rest assured, it won't be prissy, barbie girls afraid of breaking their nails who will be lacing their cleats.

Sunday, February 27, 2011

Why are awards shows always on Sundays?

Recently, I've just noticed this, because Sharon always comes home on Sundays evenings when we watch TV. Many awards since January 2011 that is, include, The Golden Globes, Superbowl, The Grammys, The Academy Awards (Oscars).

This is because the Networks want higher ratings and on Sunday evening, most people are home getting ready for Mondays!

Friday, February 18, 2011

Our obsession with EXOTIC people?

What is it lately that people in our societyhave become so obsessed and interested in exotic people. Particularly, in people with accents! These include British and Australian ones! And how many people want to date exotic people, you know, unique people!

FAMILY Day Weekend Feb 18-21!

FRI. FEB 18

So today was a P.A. Day. I woke up 12 noon as usual and frickin missed the U of T Tour that I was going to go alone for anyways because frickin little brother ALWAYS says NOOOO to everything. And he could've at least made it up for me for all these things he said no to, but once again, he failed to do so. But I missed it anyways and spent over $11 on a taxi and got there 2:05pm, five minute late. So I spent TWO hours walking around the campus, observing people, etc. Then I finally met up with Angie, from which I met while volunteering for the Canadian Track Championships back in June. We walked to Queen/Spadina, where Blushberry was close. :(
But the we went right to Starbucks and saw LIZ TRINNEAR with a friend. She was tall, without make-up with a really bad pimple on her face. I saw SOO many people today! Then we just went shopping along where we also saw Nicole S and her two grade 12 friends. Wow, awks. She wasnt going to hang at Leanne's house and wasnt going skating and I was about to ask her if she wanted to go to Ryerson/ U of T Tour, and she probably would've said no anyways. What a debby downer, unsocialable person. Jeez! So we were shopping along Queen St. and saw this really hot half-asian guy at Aritzia. Then this British dude asked us to do a survey that involved many personal questions. We later found out that he was in on it with CBC's Marketplace and Tom Harrington. So Tom asked Angie questions like: So why didn't you give out your fathers name? Why did you give out your email? It was for an episode called, Won't Get Fooled, which was to be aired on April 1st; my mom later pointed out that it was April Fool's Day! OH, okay, thats why! So were gonna be on TV! They talked about how easy it was for people who might get scammed. lol.!! Then we just went along and went into CTS, Canadian Thrift Store ( I actually like this place). Im soooo coming back to Queen St. with Sharon, and going shopping again! I realized today that with the right clothes, I look like I can actually be HOT, and work at a popular retail store!! Holy, everytime I go, Im amazed at all the shops they have and all the stylish/fashionable people to inhabit this place! All in all, I had a good day. I also saw Jenna from U of T Track Camp, and that volleyball coach from Northern. And saw my school and school's fashion show on HIGH SCHOOL RUSH, thanks to MEEE!!!!!



SAT.FEB.19

Okay, today I went out to lunch with Elayne M, Cassandra, and Cassandra's friend. Helen from Havergal. Then we went out to see I Am Number Four. It was an okay movie, the rising action took way too long, it seemed like a long beginning, but otherwise fine. And I thought Number Six would at least have somewhat of a bigger role, but overall maybe a 7.5/10, average. After that, I went home and got a haircut at Lily's. I wanted it layered but she cut off too much at the top and not enough at the bottom, bad as always. Then we drove to Mastercard Centre where we saw Toronto vs. Montreal in the CWHL!! I met a couple Olympics like Oulette, Bonhomme, Small, Botterill, etc. St-Pierre and Chu didn't show. I was with Landon, and her friend Victoria and Haley. It was actually really fun! There was a 50/50 draw ($5 for arms length of tickets), silent auctions, etc. We watched the game and it was pretty intense, fast, like juniors. And there were intermissions, etc, Victoria ia actually pretty cool person. Then we got to skate afterwards on the ice and take pics and get autographs. Everyone was genuinely very nice and talkative! Even Landon mom said so as well! Davies, and Callison were the nicest I spoke to. I actually had fun with Landon and Victoria (lol,those iphone pics, sticking tongue out through peace sign on mouth, lol) And just skating around watching the little kids interact with the players. Then as everyone was about to go off, I spotted a Clermont, and remembered that I used to volunteer at Belmont House with that player's mom. Lol, we had a nice conversation it was like, yeah Gina Marshmn. I remember looking her name up like 2 years ago wow. She was like what's your name, my mom was in the audience tonight, she's going to get a good laugh out of this, hahaha. Also, apparently we sat really close to the Barenaked Ladies drummer, he skated as well. Landon's mother spoke to him. I'm glad this experience made me a little more social because I was actually forced to talk to them since the event lasted about 4 hours and didn't want to make things awkward, plus, Landon and Victoria are easy to talk to, Vic is fearless and easy-going. So yeah, I actually became a little more social also because Wendy was telling me how she has a lot of chinese connections and knows a half-jewish, half-chinese girl named Phyllis! Like, really? What're the chances! Hilarious! Overall, I had a great day. I should've been a little more crazy, chill/sarcastic and asked them bold questions like : What's your favourite exercise, or like so where do guys hit it up to party, or like something like that!

SUN.FEB. 20

Paul's fam came over after staying over at a hotel with khai's parents in Toronto for khai bday without him knowing! (funny story of his friend seeing khais mom and khais mom going behind his back and booking room on the same floor)!
Anyways, we went skiing at centennial park. omg some people can be some damn rude and inpatient. well anyways we skied til like 5:30pm and got hot chocolate after. Trin ethan were snowboarding while me and tommy were skiing. i went on small hill the whole time except near the end when i went on the big hill and like was hoisted up the ski lift holding on for dear life on the t bar. lol. i had fun, even after not skiing for 3 years! since gr 8 activity day back in ke at skyloft, holy shiate! damn! yeah, then we chilled at home for a bit with them before they left. good family bonding time!

Family Day 2011

We didnt really do much. we didnt even go out for dinner. we just stayed home, downloaded our files onto our new 23'' LCD, HP computer, which took forever!! and holy shit yeah, just chilling. pa and mommy were downstairs watching movies. Some 300 people went to mont tremblant to ski this weekend, but im pretty glad i didnt go. i spent time with the fam, and did fun activities! plus, most of them only skiied one day, and got drunk all weekend then hungover for the next school day and was sick. lol

Sunday, January 9, 2011

MISSED great OPPURTUNITIES IN GRADE 11 2010

Okay, so here are a list of events and oppurtunities that I miss out on because I either had no one to do it with, it was cancelled, never responded to, or I had another function. This grade 11 year, I had things on my plate and more functions everyday. Every single day, I had something big going on. And living in such a vibrant, highly populated city like Toronto, there are always many things to do. That's the point of living downtown.

Things that didn't work out in Grade 11: (from DI)

-Weekend to End Womens Cancer
-Belmont House planting
-Walk For Life AIDS
-MTV LIVE
-TIFF Yorkville
-SJK Field Hockey Tourney
-Commencement volunteer
-Toronto Marathon
-Vintage Sale TB Park (sold out)
-Dolphins Refereeing Clinic-Akpro Missisauga Tourney
-Halloween dress-up, just went to Kendall's for Splice
-Muchmusic MOD
-Elayne B-Day Party
-Chanee B-Day Party
-U of T students academic testing
-Muchmusic Chum Tour
-TML 50/50 volunteer (went later in JAN 2011 vs. Calgary with some teammates)
-Promise movie extra
-snowboard/skiing
-TML practice at new TB Park Rink
-U of T Tour on P.A. Day


FML!! I really want to do High School Rush at NT YESSS!! completed! Appeared on TV Feb 18 2011 5pm and other times!!

,
CALIPER project, , and U of T/ Ryerson tours