2014 Sochi Olympics!

Sunday, June 26, 2011

I call it: THE HIPSTER HAIRCUT

This popular haircut style for men. Shaves sides and coifed up hairdos.


Almost the same for girls. It's a shaved patch at the side. Or sides shaved with long hair.

Thursday, June 23, 2011

POPULAR OVERNIGHT SUMMER CAMPS

Over about 3 years, the idea of residential (overnight) camps haven't really been important to me. I really underestimated them and they are kinda underrated in my opinion. Except for the annoying brats who obsess about camp al year long literally.

But damnnnnn ever since Moorelands ACE last year, i fucken loved camp, holy shit! It's like the best thing ever. The rehearsed song and camp songs are almost cult-like, but wutevs it's amazing. One may be swift about browsing all the camps available and what they actually say on their website. For example, I completely 100% agree when they say that it builds : character, personality, confidence, empathy, initiative, new relationships, new friends, and a network of people. In fact, there's soooo much more. I had one of the best times at ACE, even though it was only for a short lived 8 days of out 365 days of the year. I enjoyed every one of those 8 days. I made connections with people in 2 days more than I did with classmates I've known for 2 years. We got soo close and struggles and challenged and did everything together for those 8 days.

The counsellors? Amazeballs. It's the people that make the place, not the place that makes the people. So true. I think the counsellors are the back-bone of camp. They run the show and are terrific role models to all kids. Damn, last summer was my first year ever at an overnight camp, something I regret never doing as a kid; partly cause I never knew about it and partly because my parents never signed us up.

But yeah, I LOVE CAMP. I LOVE IT. Even though I was pretty quiet during the canoe trip, I actually loved every part of nature, the outdoors, the wild, and the environment. I definitely have a really strong appreciation for it entirely. All the memories we made, everything! Too lazy to go into too much detail right now, but we documented what we did in our little ACE diaries; all our memories.

Seriously, I really wish I had gone to camps and cottages as a child. I somewhat missed out on my childhood in a way. All those weeks of going to camp in the summer. Some start as early as 5 or 6! They go there for like 1 week or even fucken 8 weeks every single summer! And do that til they're about 15-16 where they then attend LIT/CIT programs to become a counsellor!! Damn! And cottages too! All those weekends and long weekends and weeks of missed cottage opportunities.

That is time--hours and days and weeks that I can never ever get back or replace. Ever. But wutevs, at least I can fucken say that I've been to camp once. Only ONCE, for only 8 days. OMFG. But wutevs, I'm going to Camp Kearney this year for was supposed to be 11 days but I have to leave 2 days early because of the flight to Miami. Damn, so only fucken 9 days at camp, FML!! So I will go this year in my grade 11 summer. Then maybe again next year in grade 12 summer depending on my schedule. Even if I do, I can only claim I've been to camp 3 times, not a lot, truly.

But oh well, I'm so glad Camp Kearney actually accepts campers grades 3-12. Even grades 10-12 is pretty late because by grade 12 you are 18 and can already be a counsellor. Plus, it is subsidizes, bonus!! But really, I'm just really grateful it provides many older students the opportunity to attend camp because it is rare to find an actual camp program for those in grades 11 and 12. So thanks Camp Kearney, for giving me a chance and just letting me be a regular kid at camp! Sidenote: ACE was completely different from what I thought it would be. I didn't know it was a leadership camp. I thought it was just a traditional program doing fun things. But no, the first fucken day we got there they were like okay you guys are ACE. You guys will be doing stuff completely different from the other campers and you will be on a completely different schedule. wow, surprise!!

So yeah...talkin' bout my summer later but that's it for now. Go Camp Kearney!! I can't wait!!! I'm going to be sooooo enthusiastic and energetic and nice and friendly to everyone I meet. So hopefully, I can score a job soon, even though it's going to be my first time there. I'm going to make a long-lasting impression with my charming, outgoing, loud personality. This is what they basically look for at camp. Someone who isn't afraid to include others, scream at the top of their lungs, do a funky hairstyle, and do crazy skits. LOL, talk about drama/singing! :D

CAMP KEARNEY 2011, HERE I MOTHERFUCKEN COME BITCHESSSSS!!! :D HECK YEAH!!

Oh I forgot--the point of this article was the name some camps that the kids at my school go to. The popular overnight summer camps that I have learned to know over flipping 3 years at my school, the ones some of my classmates go to. OMG, I can name soooo many at the top of my head:
CAMP: Wanakita, Wahonowin, Kilcoo, Kearney, Kandalore, Wabanaki, Wabikon, YMCA Queen Elizabeth, YMCA John Island, Oconto, Onondaga, Arowhon, Moorelands, White Pine, Manitou, HOC, Olympia, Saddlewood, Tamarack, New Moon, Oochigeas and that's it.

PEACE Y'ALL!!


Monday, June 13, 2011

FASHIONS BACK in grade 7/8

Wow, it's hard to fathom the fact that just 4 years ago when I was in grade 7, that the brands people crazed over are now easily dismissable by people now. I can't believe that back then, honestly, people at my school would ALL dress completely preppy. The big three are : American Eagle, Hollister, and Abercrmobie & Fitch. Other growing ones were Ruehl, Aeropostale, and Garage. But damn!!! Frickin now, like absolutely no one in my school shops there, I mean unless they want somethign for cheap or get like a nice pair of destroyed short shorts. But other than that, many people, including myself, I'll admit that I rarely ever go to those stores anymore! I mean I occasionally go in and check them out at Eaton's if I have extra time; but honestly, it looks all the same to me. The same styles. The same flower print. The same t-shirts. The same navy blue. It's all the same, and all preppy. Even back in middle school, those were the brands to wear, but I still sported the occasional gap and old navy piece here and there.

I guess you could say that their popularity has somewhat died down because of the 'hipster' trend that's been going for about over a year! I haven't quite noticed before, but I was kinda in a culture shock for a good chunk of my high school life while passing by Eaton Centre and Queen St. W all the time, the hippest, trendiest, fashionable, entertaining place to be! (Lawl, at the Queen St. W Neighbourhood Study Project!!) I basically had almost no fashion sense in grade 9, I was focused more on academia and hockey. But now, I the big three are: American Apparel, Urban Outfitters, and Forever 21; without a doubt! These chains have been sooo popular over the past few years because of the hipster trend. They're fresh, new, and trendy. (Lol, at Urban Outfitters for imitating expensive jewellers' designs). Anyways, they're huge. In grade 10, I actually enjoy shopping at these places. Places I kinda like are Lululemon, Zara; I hate Mango, and everything else I can't remember at the moment.

So yeah, those three are still a hit! But now, I don't completely have one favorite store because I don't want to be defined from the one store I shop at only. I like a medley of clothing from different stores/brands. Sometimes, I don't always like to shop at brand name stores. Because other people in the world do not have the luxuries to afford such nice clothing and accessories. When I spend hundreds shopping, I think of all the possibilities it could've been used as for someone less fortunate. Also, I like to be different. Not too different, but unique. I want to stand out. I don't want to be just another face in the sea of fish. And even though I may not 'fit in', being unique is what makes a person a person; how they differ from everyone else in the world. If you look at all the successful people in the world, from celebrities to presidents to businesspeople to scientists to athletes, they are all unique in their own way! If they weren't they wouldn't stand out, catch our attention and be favoured.

At my school, I swear to god, allllllllll the grade 9s this year look allllllllllllll the same. Seriously, they alllllllllll look the same. I mean, with the exception of a few people I actually know who are involved in extra-curriculars and do things that will get them somewhere in the future. I can't stress it enough. They're like products of cookie-cutting materialism. They all have Uggs, Goose jackets, MEC backpacks, Birkenstocks, American Apparel tights, and Hunter boots. Damn yo! Frick! Actually, there are only like 7 girls I know in grade 9 who aren't that bad, and like 4 grade 9 boys as well who aren't Jewish, jerkish, douche bags. Man it just totally wipes out any kind of originality and creativity that the new school already depraves from.

As for my fashion style, if you're wondering, ha, I'll get to that! I like to wear a couple of the things my schoolkids wear. Yes, I wear Uggs, I have tights, I have a A&F flannel, I have a TNA jacket, I have TOMS, I have Keds, I have Lululemon shorts, I have a North Face spring jacket ( which I absolutely LOVE btw), and I have a Swiss backpack (e.g. best backpack everrrrr!!!). But still, I like to change things up a bit-- wear vintage and just do slightly outrageous things. This does not include dying my hair rainbows, wearing make-up, and having pen all over my arms.

Basically, I have a code I follow, SPC. ( Like Student Price Card; it reminds me to actually use it). Before I buy anything, I think: Do I really need it? Is it necessary? Can I run in it? I always buy products with nature, the outdoors, and the environment in mind, all the time! So that means before I buy a new piece of clothing or accessory it has to be (somewhat) Sensible, Practical, and Comfortable. E.g., especially everyday shoes!! If I can't run in it, wear it on a rainy day on the subway, or jump in it, it's a no. I do have slight lenience and I am flexible towards some products, but other than that, I live by that SPC code! For example, I am unwilling to get any piercings on my face or private parts because it's a hassle, and in the wild, it would get caught on a branch or something. And I wouldn't be able to completely put pressure on it. Another example: I would never ever buy gladiators or flat flip flops ever; they're soooo flattening for your feet! Another example: I would probably never buy a Goose jacket (made of coyote fur) or anything made with fur and unethical, non-environmentally friendly practices. Another example: I would almost never buy a jacket without a hood! ( I mean really, c'mon, I do live in Canada here). So hopefully after reading this, you get a little sense of my fashion style: past, present, and future. I was not intending to make this little 'artsy fartsy' article/rant this long, but I feel as if I need to get it out there. This needs to be said because now that I'm maturing, I can make useful lifestyle choices that I have established just for myself.

Thank you so much!
PEACE!